Asian American Children and their Tiger Parents

I find it interesting that so many Asian American parents (both born here and overseas) do not consider themeselves tiger parents, but I think their children beg to differ.

 

I am doing research on this subject and really want to hear your thoughts, Asian youth about your tiger mom and/or dad. You can set up an anonymous email using gmail.com or yahoo.com or hotmail.com and enter your honest thoughts. No profanity please.

Please share how your parents treated you growing up — the good, the bad, and the ugly — too much academic pressure, plastic covers on chairs and lampshades, name calling, comparison to other smart or accomplished siblings or friends’ children, etc.

 

Thanks for sharing!

About casianmom

I am a Christian Asian mom who raised and still influences :) two children. I was born in the US with overseas-born Asian parents. I write about parenting, culture, and life and how culture affects our walk with God and vice versa..I welcome your comments sharing your experiences or those of your friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asian American Children and their Tiger Parents

  1. I was sheltered from American friends as much as possible until I realized I just could do it because I could. I rebelled very badly since sophomore year in high school up until I started college and got my shit together.

    My family always made sure I stayed away from my white friends and stayed away from the bad Lao kids too. I’ve been called stupid, a whore/slut, everything! You name it. I’m the oldest of four children but my brother (only 11 months younger) gets away with everything I did and I’m the only college-graduated, mind you.

    It’s hard but our relationship is much better now that I’ve become a mom so that’s great. I still get those verbal issues where I’m not doing what I’m supposed to do. I’m getting a lot of brunt for not going back to work full-time because you know, moms should be working no matter what because that’s what she did. *le sigh*

    • casianmom says:

      It’s not easy being an Asian American parent (or child). May I suggest some books you may want to read — I find that helpful..one is The Gift of the Blessing (Gary Smalley and John Trent) and another one is The Tribute (Dennis Rainey). These help you with parent/child relationships especially when the parent doesn’t always encourage the “child.”

      I also just started one that also looks insightful…
      Forgiving Your Parents, Forgiving Yourself by Dr. David Stoop. Since I just began, it is hard to give a recommendation yet. I’ll let you know…

Leave a Reply

